Home

As the second week is almost coming to an end, I’d like to say how much I absolutely love Imperial College. I love the revolving doors in the main entrance, our all-powerful ID cards, my room, Selkirk Hall, my friends, exploring South Kensington and other parts of London, the maths tutorials etc. Living in London has been an amazing experience so far.

It’s my 19th birthday today so we stayed up till 12am, even though I was actually born at 9pm so technically I’m still 18. We had ice cream and waffles from Wafflemeister. It was fantastic. 🙂

It’s been quite funny seeing my friends get locked out of their rooms and hall after accidentally leaving their ID card inside. But in one of my lectures, I left my ID card on the desk, moved seats, and then found it was missing when I went back. This then resulted in me calling the Duty Warden and finally visiting security in Falmouth Hall. The man working there told me I’m homeless. 😂 He gave me a master key which I was told to return the next morning. By this time, I was hysterical. I just found the situation incredibly funny, especially when he said I’d have to pay £25 if I lose the key – apparently, losing my card means I’m likely to lose other things too.

But I found my card. A girl from my course found it and messaged me via Facebook. I then went to Tizard Hall which is where she lives to pick it up. Tizard Hall is the one right next to mine.

Last Sunday, I went on a Monopoly challenge with my friends as part of the scouts society. It was amazing. We had to go to as many monopoly places as possible in four hours and take pictures and answer questions. It was so much fun, even when it started to rain at the end and we got drenched. We were the first team back and we did actually win. So yay! After that, we went to Nando’s. There was a really funny moment during the challenge, though, when we ran down a flight of stairs thinking they were the entrance to the tube station, only to end up at a women’s public toilet instead. Ooops.

Official teaching started this week. I have had 3 or 4 lectures everyday, starting at 9pm, and a maths tutorial everyday too. I love the maths lectures and tutorials. ‘Foundations of chemical engineering calculations’ has taken a while for me to get my head around, and I still get confused about lots of things. Dimensional analysis and unit conversions is what we’ve been doing so far. I’ve also had lectures in ‘process analysis’, ‘fluid mechanics’, ‘thermodynamics’ and ‘properties of matter’. I didn’t do Further maths or Physics at A Level so I am a bit behind compared to everyone else, especially in terms of my Physics knowledge. But it should be fine. 🙂

I love the library here. It’s really well stocked and there are lots of silent study places. There’s also a library cafe which I haven’t actually bought anything from yet.

We also had a bake-off in my hall. My friends made the most wonderful brownies and came joint second, winning themselves Selkirk hoodies and chocolate for our floor.

Last night, we had free pizza on M floor. We went down early and stood on the balcony, getting excited every time someone opened the front door, thinking it was the pizza. The pizza eventually arrived on three motorbikes. It was great. 🙂

IMG_8899.JPG

IMG_8896.JPG

IMG_8898.JPG

IMG_8897.JPG

IMG_8889.JPG

IMG_8890.JPG

IMG_8902.JPG

IMG_8894.JPG

IMG_8799.JPG

Leave a comment